Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope
13th Users' Meeting.

May 9 - 11 2022.
Strasbourg, France and remotely.

At over 40 years old, CFHT continues a healthy balance of PI-led programs and large programs that take advantage of its instrumentation suite. CFHT offers 5 modern instruments collectively capable of imaging, spectroscopy, and spectropolarimetry that enable science from exoplanets and stellar activity to small solar system bodies, star formation, and cosmology. The diversity of instruments, combined with efficient queue operations and a focus on Large Programs, keeps CFHT among the most scientifically productive observatories in the world. Through upgraded instrumentation and operations CFHT has reinvented itself many times and its most significant iteration is now on the horizon.

The vision for the future of CFHT is the Maunakea Spectroscopic Explorer (MSE). MSE will lead the world in multi-object spectroscopy with dedicated survey operations. MSE science is diverse and ranges from exoplanets to stellar populations in nearby galaxies to the composition and dynamics of the distant universe. Now is a critical time for defining the future of CFHT taking advantage of its unique instrumentation and exceptional site, as we prepare for a new era with MSE.

At this, the 13th Users' Meeting in CFHT’s history, we as a community we will discuss exciting recent scientific results and plans for the next ones. Most importantly, we will help guide the future direction of CFHT.

Laura Parker, Chair, CFHT Scientific Advisory Council
Chair, UM2022 Scientific Organizing Committee.

Daniel Devost, Director of Science Operations.
Co-Chair, UM2022 Scientific Organizing Committee.

Our Sponsors

Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

Daniel Devost, Chair (CFHT, Hawaii)
Laura Parker, SOC chair (McMaster University, Canada)
Patti Freeman (CFHT, Hawaii)
Nicolas Martin (Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg, France)
Pierre-Alain Duc (Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg, France)
Laurie Rousseau-Nepton (CFHT, Hawaii)
Luc Arnold (CFHT, Hawaii)
Ferdinand Babas (CFHT, Hawaii)
Mary Beth Laychak (CFHT, Hawaii)
Veronique Trimbour (Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg, France)
Sandrine Langenbacher (Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg, France)
LOC contact: